Presentation

The François Arago Centre is a project at the Astroparticule et Cosmologie (APC) laboratory and is supported by the IPGP within the Space Campus of Université Paris Denis-Diderot. The centre was founded in 2010 with the goal to support space-based experiments facing the challenge of data treatment of steadily increasing and complex data sets. The centre provides services, such as computing facilities, data analysis, archiving, and distribution support, access to the heavy-duty computing facilities at CC-IN2P3, and office space to both, ground and spacebased projects with strong french involvement.

In the spirit of François Arago, who combined many fields of natural science in his work, enabled science by focusing attention on new technologies and supporting scientific development through communication between many disciplines, we want to serve the scientific community. The aim is to bring together scientists from different fields, data and software engineers, the scientific community and the general public in order to best exploit the data provided by todays state-of-the-art experiments.

You find on these pages information about the projects we provide services for. There is a description how to reach the François Arago Centre, a list of the staff members of the centre, news from the centre as well as news about the status of building the centre, and a description of the partners who enable us to provide services to the community.

 

 


Address: François Arago Centre, 13 Rue Watt, 75013 Paris

 

Mailing address: APC, François Arago Centre, 10 rue Alice Domon et Léonie Duquet, 75205 Paris Cedex 13, France

English

Présentation

Le Centre François Arago est une structure associée au laboratoire Astroparticule et Cosmologie (APC) et soutenue par l'IPGP au sein du Campus Spatial de l'Université Paris 7. Il a été créé en 2010 afin de soutenir des expériences spatiales nécessitant des traitements de données complexes. Le Centre fournit ainsi un certain nombre de services à ses utilisateurs, tels que l'accès à des calculateurs, des routines d'analyse, des serveurs de stockage, au centre de calcul du CNRS de Lyon (CC-IN2P3), la distribution de nouveaux logiciels d'analyse, ou encore la mise à disposition de bureaux (pour les projets spatiaux ou au sol à forte implication française).

 

Nous souhaitons servir la communauté dans l'esprit de François Arago, qui s'est illustré dans de nombreux domaines avec le souci constant d'introduire l'utilisation de nouvelles technologies en encourageant les communications interdisciplinaires à l'intérieur des sciences. Notre objectif est donc de favoriser les échanges entre des scientifiques et informaticiens d'horizons divers, des ingénieurs en informatique, et dans une plus vaste mesure, la communauté scientifique et le grand public, afin de tirer le meilleur des données scientifiques aujourd'hui disponibles.

 

Vous trouvez sur ces pages des informations relatives aux projets que nous soutenons, ainsi qu'une carte d'accès au Centre, un annuaire, des nouvelles du Centre (et en particulier de l'avancée des travaux dans ses locaux), et enfin des liens vers nos partenaires qui nous permettent de fournir ces services à la communauté.

French