Euclid

ESA’s Euclid mission to explore the hidden side of the Universe – dark energy and dark matter – reached an important milestone in June 2012 that will see it head towards full construction. Read more about the final approval from ESA’s Science Programme Committee to move into the full construction phase, leading to its launch in 2021.

Euclid is ESA's M2 satellite mission of the Cosmic Vision program in which APC, together with the FACe, is contributing to data processing. Read the CNRS/IN2P3 communiqué and the ESA press release.

Euclid is an ESA mission to map the geometry of the dark Universe. The mission will investigate the distance-redshift relationship and the evolution of cosmic structures. It achieves this by measuring shapes, luminosities at different wavelenghts and redshifts of galaxies and clusters of galaxies out to redshifts ~2, or equivalently to a look-back time of 10 billion years. It will therefore cover the entire period over which dark energy played a significant role in accelerating the expansion.

The APC is heavily involved in the preparation of this mission, which is supposed to be launched in the 2021 time frame. The APC is leading the efforts of one of the workpackages concerning the data analysis of Euclid data within the French community. This involves the comparison with observations from other dark energy projects, such as LSST, and the development of specific software and of data handling techniques. The FACe will be used for data processing tasks and connection to the super-computing facilities and data storage at the CC-IN2P3 in Lyon.    

apceucliddev: The FACe supports the software development for the Euclid mission by providing the Jenkins platform. 

ESA's Euclid mission homepage 

Euclid consortium homepage

Euclid@APC Wiki page (internal use only)

English

Euclid

L'ESA a sélectionné les missions M1 et M2 du programme Cosmic Vision: M2 est la mission Euclid (lancement prevu 2021) dans laquelle l'APC est impliqué avec le FACe pour le traitement des données. Communiqué de presse IN2P3 et ESA press release.

Euclid est une mission de l'ESA conçue pour cartographier la géométrie de l'Univers sombre. La mission consitera à étudier la relation distance-décalage vers le rouge et l'évolution des structures cosmiques. Elle y parviendra en mesurant la forme et le décalage vers le rouge de galaxies et d'amas de galaxies dont le décalage est ~2, ou de manière équivalente à un temps de retour en arrière de 10 milliards d'années. Elle couvrira donc toute la période au cours de laquelle l'énergie sombre a joué un rôle significatif dans l'accélération de l'expansion

L'APC est fortement impliqué dans la préparation de cette mission, qui devrait être lancée vers 2021. En effet, le laboratoire est à la tête de l'effort de travail à mener pour l'analyse des données, au sein de la communauté française. Cette analyse consistera, entre autres, à comparer les résultats de la mission  avec les précédentes observations énergie noire, comme LSST, et le développement de logiciels spécifiques et de techniques de manipulation des données. Le centre François Arago sera utilisé pour le calcul de tâches de traitement et la connexion aux installations de super-calcul et de stockage des données au CC-IN2P3 de Lyon.

La page ESA de la mission Euclid

Euclid Consortium

Euclid@APC Wiki page (internal use only) 

French