Science with QUBIC

QUBIC is a cosmology experiment project designed to study the so-called inflation period, during which time the Universe expanded extremely rapidly immediately after the Big Bang. This observation will be done by measuring the B modes of the CMB polarization. The Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) is the signal emitted 380,000 years after the Big Bang when the light radiation was decoupled from the hot matter of the Universe and could spread freely.

The scenarios modeling this period of inflation predict that it would have induced in the signal of the CMB a part polarized according to two modes called E and B. Modes B can be generated only by the impact of primordial gravitational waves amplified by inflation.

The discovery and measurement of these modes B would thus be the formal validation of the existence of the period of inflation and would make it possible to discriminate among the scenarios currently proposed to model this period. It is for this discovery that the project QUBIC is conceived.

To measure these modes B, QUBIC will use bolometric interferometry, an innovative technique and alternative to conventional direct imaging techniques used by all other experiments in the field. This technique will allow to combine the advantages of interferometry (reduction of systematic errors) and those of detection using bolometers (high sensitivity to the signal). This is a strong point of QUBIC vis-à-vis competing scientific projects. Moreover, QUBIC will observe the sky on two frequencies (150 and 220 GHz), which will make it possible to discriminate the useful signal from that of the cosmological forecasts (especially dust emissions).

The QUBIC project was created in 2008 by the merger of the BRAIN and MBI projects. It is currently under detailed design. A phase of construction and testing of the instrument will begin in 2016. Scientific measurements are planned for 2018 / 2019. Longer-term complementary instruments (at 90, 150 and 220 GHz) will make it possible to refine the measurements.

The QUBIC collaboration, led by APC, is made up of leading laboratories in the field of cosmology in France, Italy, the United Kingdom, Ireland, the USA and the Netherlands. QUBIC is also the only European terrestrial experiment in this scientific field.

 

List of APC staff involved  

Cosmology group

  • CHANIAL Pierre
  • GIRAUD-HÉRAUD Yannick
  • HAMILTON Jean-Christophe
  • KAPLAN Jean
  • PERBOST Camille
  • PLAT Michel
  • STOLPOVSKIY Mikhail
  • TARTARI Andréa

Mechanics service

  • BLEURVACQ Nathanaël
  • CHAPRON Claude
  • DHEILLY Stéphane
  • KARACAC Maurice

Instrumentation service 

  • BROSSARD Julien
  • DECOURCELLE Tanguy
  • GRANDSIRE Laurent
  • PRÊLE Damien
  • VOISIN Fabrice

Administrative service

  • DAVILA Ludovic

Quality unit

  • JUFFROY Corinne

 

Links

International website of the project: http://www.qubic-experiment.org/

La Science avec QUBIC

QUBIC est un projet d’expérience de cosmologie destiné à l’étude de la période dite d’inflation, période pendant laquelle l’Univers s’est dilaté extrêmement rapidement immédiatement après le Big-Bang. Cette observation se fera par la mesure des modes B de la polarisation du CMB. Le CMB (Cosmic Microwave Background ou Fonds diffus Cosmologique) est le signal émis 380 000 ans après le Big Bang lorsque les rayonnements lumineux ont été découplés de la matière chaude de l’Univers et ont pu se propager librement.

Les scénarios modélisant cette période d’inflation prédisent que celle-ci aurait induite dans le signal du CMB une partie polarisée suivant deux modes dits E et B. Les modes B ne peuvent être engendrés que par l’impact d’ondes gravitationnelles primordiales amplifiées par l’inflation.

La découverte et la mesure de ces modes B serait donc la validation formelle de l’existence de la période d’inflation et permettrait de discriminer parmi les scénarios actuellement proposés pour modéliser cette période. C’est pour cette découverte qu’est conçu le projet QUBIC. 

Pour mesurer ces modes B, QUBIC aura recours à l’interférométrie bolométrique, une technique innovante et alternative aux technologies classiques d’imagerie directe utilisées par toutes les autres expériences du domaine. Cette technique permettra de cumuler les avantages de l’interférométrie (réduction des erreurs systématiques) et ceux de la détection par utilisation de bolomètres (grande sensibilité au signal). Ceci est un point fort de QUBIC vis-à-vis des projets scientifiques concurrents. De plus QUBIC observera le ciel sur deux fréquences (150 et 220 GHz) ce qui permettra de discriminer le signal utile de celui du aux avant-plans cosmologiques (émissions dues à la poussière notamment).

Le projet QUBIC est né en 2008 de la fusion des projets BRAIN et MBI. Il est actuellement en cours de design détaillé. Une phase de construction et test de l’instrument commencera en 2016. Des prises de mesures scientifiques sont prévues à partir de 2018 / 2019. A plus long terme des instruments complémentaires (à 90 ; 150 et 220 GHz) permettront d’affiner les mesures.

La collaboration QUBIC, dirigée par l’APC, est constituée par des laboratoires de premier plan dans le domaine de la cosmologie en France, Italie, Royaume-Uni, Irlande, USA, Pays-Bas. QUBIC est par ailleurs la seule expérience terrestre européenne dans ce domaine scientifique

 

Liste des agents impliqués à l’APC

Groupe Cosmologie

  • CHANIAL Pierre
  • GIRAUD-HÉRAUD Yannick
  • HAMILTON Jean-Christophe
  • KAPLAN Jean
  • PERBOST Camille
  • PLAT Michel
  • STOLPOVSKIY Mikhail
  • TARTARI Andréa

Service mécanique

  • BLEURVACQ Nathanaël
  • CHAPRON Claude
  • DHEILLY Stéphane
  • KARACAC Maurice

Service Techniques Expérimentales

  • BROSSARD Julien
  • DECOURCELLE Tanguy
  • GRANDSIRE Laurent
  • PRÊLE Damien
  • VOISIN Fabrice

Service administratif

  • DAVILA Ludovic

Cellule Qualité

  • JUFFROY Corinne

 

Liens

Le site international du projet: http://www.qubic-experiment.org/